ONE YEAR OF NYSC (My experience) day_3

A DREAM COMES TRUE

“Looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith; who for the JOY that was SET before Him ENDURED the cross, DESPISING the shame, and is set down at the RIGHT HAND of the THRONE of God”—Heb.12:2.

 Are you wondering if am preaching? Well, it’s because we need it at this point. Jesus, Jesus, Jesus. Blood of Jesus here, same blood there. I want you to know that Jesus didn’t just become great overnight, he worked for it. He endured sufferings, hardships, lots of humiliation, and he overlooked the shame. Why? The above Scriptural passage has the answer. “who for the JOY that was SET before Him”. He could see the bright future lying ahead of him. This worth emulating. 

All the unpalatable experience and those discouraging challenges I faced during my undergraduate days were endured for the sake of my great dream. I can see that bright future lying ahead of me. I can perceive better days coming. Nothing could make me give up on my dream, not even a dream killer. So I was as strong as mount Zion in the midst of weakening circumstances. I later come to realise that truly, tough times don’t last but tough people do, because despite all the challenges, I graduated from the University without a single carryover for complete 10-semesters (5-years durational course). “Now you very close to my dream of wearing the KHAKI“, I said to myself.
Having fulfilled all the requirements for the award of Bachelor of Technology degree in Biochemistry, I was been mobilized for the National Service (BATCH B NYSC) in 2015. I got my call-up letter and discovered that I have been posted to Edo State, one of the three States I chose during online registration (the other two are: Ogun and Kwara States). As from the day I printed my call up letter, I was unable to sleep well in the night, just because I can’t wait to see myself in that Khaki and Jungle boot.
So on the 27th of October 2015, a day before the official opening of NYSC camp, I left Lagos with my luggage. And seeing myself at the NYSC camp in Okada, Edo State, was what no English word could fully express. The camp began the following day, and after a series of long queues, I finally get it. What? My Khaki. Crested vest, white Socks, NYSC cap and Jungle boot were handed over to me. What else can we call this? It’s a dream comes true. But that was not the end of the journey. What happened next? Find out in tomorrow’s post. 

 COMING NEXT

       day_4

(Serving my Father Land)

Comment and share. Thanks.

Leave a comment