ONE YEAR OF NYSC (My Experience) day_4

SERVING MY FATHER LAND

“Youth obey the clarion call. Let us lift our nation high. Under the sun or in the rain. With dedication and selflessness. Nigeria is ours, Nigeria we serve.” 

Anytime we sing the above NYSC Anthem, my heart is always fill with an undefeated passion for my dear Nation—Nigeria. My message for you today is that popular Philip Stanhope’s quote which says, ‘what is worth doing at all, is worth doing well’. We all clamour today that Nigeria is bad, and since she has nothing good to offer us, we too are not ready to offer anything good. What a wrong thinking! Truly Nigeria of today is bad and has not been fair at all. But should we fold our arms while watching our supposed great Nation to fall and collapse completely? If no, therefore, we must all rise up to answer the Clarion call and help to lift our dying Nation up. “Nigeria is ours, Nigeria we serve.” 


My experience in NYSC has been a year of hardworking and great impartation. To the glory of God Almighty, I count it all joy whenever I look back and remember how many lives I have positively imparted. Though I may not be new in the act of teaching, because that was what I spent most of my time doing at the University. But NYSC has given me a once-in-a-lifetime privilege to move out as far as coming to Edo State to come and impart knowledge into this younger generation who mostly need such an assistance.

Serving in Edo State was a God-ordained plan. As I enjoyed my stay while contributing my quota to the development of my Father Land. I stayed in three different communities and served in two secondary schools, both as a Biology and Mathematics teacher during my one year of NYSC. As a writer and motivational speaker, I didn’t just go to class only to go and write note on the board, but I always do a lot of brotherly discussion with my students to open their eyes and mind to what they should know about life. I wasn’t surprise too much when a student suddenly adopt my pet name—Fabamssa. Another one decided to follow my footsteps to be a writer and a counselor. While many other always say they want to be like Corper Fabamssa. Always let your work speak for you. Nothing is as joyful as this.

At this junction, I want to confess that I actually enjoyed my stay in the communities where I served. They are all good, lovely and hospitable. I will always live to remember them because my life experienced great development and achievement during my one year of National Service. Before I finally drop my pen in today’s note, let me quickly reiterate that my message and advise remains, what is worth doing at all, is worth doing well’. Work hard and do it well. All is well!

Thanks for reading. 

WATCH OUT FOR THE LAST DAY
            day_5

(After NYSC what next?)

SEE ANSWER TO THIS BIG QUESTION TOMORROW

click LIKE and SHARE. Thanks.

Leave a comment